Peru – why was I really there

Most people who know me would consider me a city person. What most people don’t know is that I grew up in a small town surrounded by villages. My daily walk to school passed through farm lands. My little friends and I did not have manufactured toys to play with. We invented our own way of amusement. And nature was a big toy house we all played in.

Having lived for years in a highly organized society, a consistent-temperature office, on wheels,  I felt the urge to reconnect with the raw world. Tibet and Machu Picchu hold the promises of mysterious culture, nature wonder, and unfamiliar environment that can break up the routine.

The physical challenge also played a part in my choice of the destinations. For Tibet, it was the high altitude. For Machu Picchu, it was the Inca Trail. The body would be pushed to where it had never been. Surviving that challenge would be the icing on the cake.

After Tibet I knew what to expect at the high altitude – short of breath, fatigue, funny stomach, headache, insomnia. This time the lack of sleep started when I took a 1:30am, 10-hour flight from SFO to Lima; and had to be in the Lima airport at 5am the next day to catch the flight to Cusco. Ever after my arrival until the end of my trip, I had not be able to catch more than five hours sleep each night.

But who needs sleep when there was all that excitement being in a totally different world?

– Cusco

0 Responses to “Peru – why was I really there”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

